Home > Living in Italy > Living in Italy

Living in Italy

The house ‘immersed in greenery’ as they say here

Italy has been our home for 10 years now, and this house for more than half of that time. This daily blog documents the joys, difficulties and irritations of our existence.

We have our own intrinsic difficulties. My husband, Clive, is disabled and I am partly so through a scoliosis.

We have no family but are great dog-lovers, although things aren’t easy in that department either. Our eldest dog (a young eight years old) has been treated for cancer. Our  six-year-old dog plays ‘chicken’ with the post van and has been diagnosed with chronic bronchitis. Our youngest dog (only a puppy) nearly died from the complications of a coccidia infestation.

I love living here. Clive is more circumspect. The earlier entries in this blog are by him and reveal a different attitude.

Maybe, by keeping abreast of our daily life, you will be able to tell whose view is the more accurate. Does the pain outweigh the pleasure? Will my writing betray a less rose-tinted reality?

Please note: I’m now continuing my blogging at Daily Reflection on our company website.

You can also see the books we’ve written and published:

Any Subject Kindle Books

  1. January 31, 2012 at 8:28 pm

    We sail through the internet seeing things, that we might never otherwise have seen, yet rarely do we see the real people, and the ups and downs of their lives.

    My daughter developed juvenile arthritis at the age of four. She is now thirty, uses a power-chair and has had several joints replaced. Yet she has a much sunnier disposition than me and takes on challenges that I’m sure I wouldn’t have dared approach.

    Best wishes – I’ll be back to visit and share some of that Italian light.

    • Damaris
      February 1, 2012 at 2:54 am

      What a lovely story. My very best wishes to you and your daughter.

  2. May 10, 2012 at 12:54 pm

    Hi I just came on this page while searching for poems. I would love to visit Italy.
    I like your blueberry picture on main page.
    Lovely story.
    Wishing your family back to good health.
    Keep up your writing.
    I will come back to visit again

    • Damaris
      May 10, 2012 at 8:44 pm

      Many thanks for your good wishes and I hope we’ll hear from you again. BTW they’re grapes not blueberries, but I agree they do look like blueberries!

  3. August 18, 2012 at 1:34 am

    I have nominated you for the Beautiful Blogger Award come pick up your award and the rules and ENJOY

    • Damaris
      August 19, 2012 at 1:26 am

      Thank you so much for your nomination. I was absolutely thrilled to see the name of my website on your list – you see, I knew even before you’d sent me your comment! I’m scratching my head for 7 things to say about myself at the moment, and then will get my list of nominees together – will post soon!

      • August 19, 2012 at 1:30 am

        :)

        Smile and do at your own pace I went a little overboard yes but you were all so deserving
        :)
        Eunice

      • Damaris
        August 19, 2012 at 1:33 am

        You spread a lot of sunshine, I reckon!

      • August 19, 2012 at 1:36 am

        I try to lol I need the sunshine for pretty photos and birds,bees and blooms :)

        lol thanks for the compliment too :)

  4. November 24, 2012 at 5:23 pm

    Hi There

    I have an award here for you The Blog of The Year 2012 Award when you have time stop by to COLLECT :)
    Eunice

    • November 24, 2012 at 9:08 pm

      Thank you so much Eunice. And thank you for what you say about me, too!

      • November 24, 2012 at 9:26 pm

        :) You are very welcome
        HUGS

  5. December 4, 2012 at 6:46 am

    I have Blog of the Year 2012 Award here for you! Enjoy
    http://nutsfortreasure.wordpress.com/2012/12/03/please-check-the-list-blogger-of-the-year-2012/
    xo
    Eunice

    • December 4, 2012 at 7:44 pm

      Hi Eunice, I haven’t yet put up my award (which I’m really pleased with) because I’m still deciding who best to pass it on to and wanted to do that at the same time. Is that OK?

      • December 4, 2012 at 9:52 pm

        OH yes take your time not everyone can take 2 days to load and let know all I shared with :)
        Sit and enjoy
        Eunice

      • December 5, 2012 at 3:59 pm

        Thank you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

