Home > Gardening > Cutting wood

Cutting wood

I met our neighbour in the Post Office today. He asked me if I’d done my pruning yet and I realised with a jolt that it’s no longer February, the ‘pruning’ month.

Then he told me that later today he would be cutting down dead trees for the man who bought the land adjoining our olive grove.

Sure enough, just after lunch, there was the sound of a tractor and all 3 dogs raced down the slope to meet them.

The new neighbour has a 4 month-old Maremmano which Kepler made immediate friends with. She isn’t ready and he isn’t able, but both of them are willing.

Dead cherry

The tree being cut into logs is a cherry. When I checked this, our neighbour was quick to point out that the tree was just beyond our property line, which amused me as I wouldn’t have minded if it had been our tree.

I started pruning in the orchard after that. I did most work on a Reinette du Canada apple and a Santa Rosa plum.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

