Violets

Violets

Violets are possibly my favourite flower. I never realised before how much evidence there is for this:

  • I gave the name Violet to the doll I played with most (although I didn’t like dolls much)
  • Violet is the name of the heroine in my novel ‘Queen Anne’s Lace’
  • I used to draw stylised violets all the time
  • I secretly carved a violet into a piece of old floorboard
  • My mother put violets on my birthday cake and my grandmother ate them
  • I still have the tiny bottle of violet perfume I bought at Lulworth Cove many years ago
  • I bought a cake of violet soap to give as a present but used it myself
  • I used to look for violets in the woods wherever we went in Spring
  • I thought the white violets in our orchard were literally magical

The violets in the photo were under some bark mulch and survived the snow while others perished.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

