Home > Gardening > Hyacinth bulb

Hyacinth bulb

The little hyacinth flower

A bit over 3 years ago, I bought a little pack of 3 hyacinth bulbs. There was a lovely show of flowers the first year, and I looked up about what to do with the bulbs afterwards.

“Throw them away,” was the most frequent advice.

I couldn’t quite bear to, so I let the leaves soak up some sun, then when they’d withered, I trimmed them off and put the bowl back in a dark cupboard.

One bulb didn’t sprout the next year but the others did, and there was also a little offshoot bulb. All but one were ‘blind’ (i.e. didn’t flower) but the flower that did come was well worth it.

This year, after doing the same again, I’ve had some tall green leaves and also one wee flower.

It’s not exactly a display that would win prizes, but to me it’s more satisfying because it was an experiment that was worth doing.

  1. March 23, 2012 at 10:23 pm

    I’m like you…I hate to throw out a plant. It might not be grand like the first year but it still gives you pleasure.

    • Damaris
      March 24, 2012 at 8:48 pm

      Plants you’ve seen round once or twice seem more ‘yours’, I think.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

