Home > Animals and wildlife > Black squirrel

Black squirrel

Early this morning, our neighbour mowed the rest of the olive grove and took in our orchard as well. I was out there watching him, admiring his skill but also with my heart in my mouth for if he knocked into any of the trees.

Suddenly I was aware of a dark lump on the trunk of our big oak tree.

It came down from the tree and rippled onto the drive. After sitting up to look at me briefly, it rippled on into the long grass behind the postbox.

The black squirrel sitting up to look at me

The black squirrel rippling away

My hasty shots aren’t very clear but I was quite excited. I’ve seen black squirrels round here before, but never near the house!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

