Home > Animals and wildlife > Dor beetle

Dor beetle

Big black beetle alongside clutch pencil for comparison

I found this hefty beetle yesterday, floating at the back of the skimmer in the swimming pool.

I fished it out, assuming it was dead, and put it on the rim of the pool. This morning it was still there although not exactly where I remembered putting it.

Still believing it to be dead, I brought it into the house intending to photograph it. 

This time it definitely moved a centimetre or so from where I’d put it, and when I went to pick it up, it twitched its legs.

It quite gave me the creeps.

I put it on an outside windowsill to finish its convalescence. Such a smouldering giant of a creature takes ages to recover from near-drowning, I suppose.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

