Hazelnuts

2 of the hazelnuts plucked before their time

When I planted our strawberry tree, I tucked it between 2 hazel trees thinking there would be enough room for them all to grow.

I was wrong. The strawberry tree looks very healthy (which wasn’t a foregone conclusion as it’s quite a high altitude for it here) but it has no elbow room at all.

Every so often I cut the flanking hazel trees back a bit to give it some breathing space. The other day, by mistake, I cut off a twig with 5 hazelnuts on it.

I brought the twig back to the house and put it in a vase as a decoration.

I don’t imagine the nuts will ripen like that, but if they did, they’d be the first and probably the last hazelnuts we ever get.

This year’s a good year – there are lots – but I still expect to be pipped to the post by the black squirrels and the mice.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

