Home > Animals and wildlife > Glow worm

Glow worm

A glow worm shining in the dark

This evening, after dark, I saw what looked like a double firefly sitting still on some grass.

As I went near to investigate, I realised it was a glow worm.

I’ve only ever found one here once before, so they’re quite a find.

The best way of getting a photo, I discovered (without being an expert in this) was to shine a torch at the creature and allow the camera’s flash to function at the same time.

The first time I did this, I was so long about it that the glow worm got annoyed and turned its light off, which meant of course I had no hope of finding it. But when it turned its light back on, it was in a more photogenic position!

If you half-close your eyes you can see the part of the glow worm that was shining. In the dark, that part was a brilliant pale green light and you couldn’t see anything else at all.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

