Home > Gardening > Ripe almonds

Ripe almonds

Almonds peeping through their outer casing

The almonds always take me by surprise when they’re ready to pick, which is indicated by their grey-green velvety outer casing splitting open.

This time I think it may be the wet followed by the dry which has precipitated it.

I was walking past the tree this evening, on my way to pick another lot of damsons, when I saw them.

Almonds are a pleasure to pick. They just twist off the twig without resistance.

I picked a hundred and then it got dark.

Categories: Gardening Tags: , , , , ,
  1. August 15, 2012 at 10:14 pm

    We planted an almond tree last year. this year it has 3 almonds on it. Hoping for more next year!!

    • Damaris
      August 16, 2012 at 12:19 pm

      I’m sure it will do you proud. It’s so important when a plant proves it CAN produce, I always think.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment