Home > Gardening > Very different fates

Very different fates

Wilted white lilac

These 2 little lilacs came from the same nursery and were planted at the same time, by the same person, only a few feet apart.

They’ve received similar amounts of water on the same days during the drought.

The only possible clue to their contrasting states of health is that the dried-up one is a white lilac and the flourishing one, albeit with leaves perforated by (?) snails,  is a purple lilac.  Although why that should make the difference I don’t know.

I tried very hard to keep the white lilac alive as it got more and more sickly. Then I took my eye off the ball for a couple of evenings and BANG, that’s what happened.

The sun has been scorching hot these last few days.

Purple lilac with healthy (if nibbled) leaves

  1. August 21, 2012 at 12:49 am

    There you are in Italy but busy growing lilacs the NH state flower – yes! I have some white – wish I could share with you.

    • Damaris
      August 21, 2012 at 11:05 pm

      Thank you. I have wonderful memories of lilac trees (in the UK). I remember particularly burying my nose in the blooms when they were wet from the rain.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

