Home > Our house > Return of the cleaning lady

Return of the cleaning lady

Angela, our Albanian cleaning lady, goes back to her home country for about a month each summer. She doesn’t particularly enjoy it; her two young children, who consider themselves Italian, grumble like mad, and it seems to be mainly something to satisfy the relatives.

We only know her departure date at the last minute, and the day we know when we’ll see her next is the day before we do see her.

Today was the day we saw her and very glad we were too, not least because she’s a pleasant and cheery person.

She regaled me with tales of the cheating and money-grubbing habits of her fellow countrymen, telling me that apart from speaking the language, she felt as lost there as I would have done. I have to say that Albania doesn’t sound very welcoming.

Our kitchen, on the other hand, is now extremely welcoming.

Kitchen stove and surfaces spotless once more

This is the ‘after’ photo; the ‘before’ photo is censored.

  1. September 7, 2012 at 11:11 pm

    Oh, the days of having a wonderful cleaning lady. When I was working full time, I had a lovely lady, who was more like a family friend, but who cleaned our house until it looked like a showplace. These days, I do it in between camping, gardening, sewing, painting, and having fun with the grandkids. I’m guessing my picture might look more like your censored one, but as far as I know Martha Stewart isn’t coming to visit me any time soon.

    • Damaris
      September 8, 2012 at 6:18 pm

      You sound like you have a great deal of energy and expend it well.

  2. September 8, 2012 at 8:53 pm

    I envy you the cleaning lady. When I was employed, rather than self-employed, I had a cleaning lady every Thursday and it was so lovely to leave to someone else to do. Now I only seem to spruce up the place when someone is coming, that’s dreadful to admit! Although I do keep the B&B rooms spotless, well I have to really.

    • Damaris
      September 9, 2012 at 9:22 pm

      Clive’s disability and my partial disability make the help more of a necessity than a luxury. Every August we’re reminded just how much of a necessity!

      • September 9, 2012 at 9:56 pm

        I am sorry, I didn’t meant to be flippant, I hadn’t read your earlier posts about Clives Lymphedema, sorry to hear about that.

      • Damaris
        September 9, 2012 at 10:15 pm

        Not at all. I have a scoliosis which makes it difficult for me to sweep and wash floors as much as would be necessary.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

