Home > Daily life, Gardening > Magic apples

Magic apples

Inaccessible apples

These branches belong to one of the two trees I call the Magic Apple Trees.

When we first viewed the house before buying it, they were bearing golden apples in the middle of a sea of greenery and they made a deep impression on me.

Unfortunately part of the magic is that the apples are almost completely inaccessible. The trees grow on the edge of raised ground and most of the fruit is on branches over the void.

Yesterday, poking up as far as I could, I managed to reach a cluster of 3 apples with my ‘fruit hook’, a curve of very stiff wire on the end of a bamboo pole.

The first apple landed against brambles half way down the slope and Joules went for it. (Not to fetch it, but to eat it himself; luckily he obeys me when I shout at him to stop.)

The second sliced itself partly open on a rock and skipped a great distance into a clump of grass.

The third rolled until it hit a tree trunk and was seized by Kepler.

Kepler knew, as he always does, that he had a great prize so there was no way I was going to get it. I found it later on the gravel in front of the house.

These are delicious apples and the wild boars polish them off if they fall on their own. I could wish, though, that the challenge were not quite so great in order to obtain the riches …

  1. October 10, 2012 at 12:15 am

    Have you tried a fishing net to get the apples? this is what I do when I can’t reach them. You jiggle them with the pole and they fall into the net. hey presto!!

    • Damaris
      October 10, 2012 at 7:59 pm

      Thank you for the tip! I tried it today with the net from the swimming pool which has a very long and extendable pole. It wasn’t always successful but I certainly saved some apples from bruising or splitting.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

