Home > Gardening > Persimmons

Persimmons

Half-ripe persimmon

When we first came to Italy, I remember asking: “Are those oranges?”

I could tell they weren’t, at least not like any orange I’d ever seen, but I didn’t know what else they might be.

They were in fact persimmons, or ‘cachi’ (pronounced khaki) in Italian.

They’re extremely attractive fruits. Sometimes big trees are hung all over with them like Christmas baubles, all the more noticeable for the fact that they cling on after the leaves have fallen.

Persimmons ripening on our small tree

They aren’t quite so good to eat in my opinion, although some people love them and they’re sold in the shops.

There are 2 kinds: astringent and non-astringent.  I find the gelatinous, fibrous consistency of a ripe persimmon so repellent that I haven’t really got as far as the taste.

  1. October 15, 2012 at 11:55 pm

    I don’t think I’ve eaten a persimmon of any kind. Maybe I need to be more adventuresome, but I’m not going to hurry based on your opinion.

    • Damaris
      October 16, 2012 at 6:05 pm

      Don’t be too put off! I knew someone who talked about ‘the cachi experience’ and got me to try one when it was at the peak of ripeness. It could be that slightly less ripe and therefore less ‘globby’ would have been more to my taste!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

