Home > Animals and wildlife > Red juniper berries

Red juniper berries

Struggling up the slope to the house with my heavy basket of apples the other day, I tried to take a short cut and landed myself in a thicket of tall juniper bushes.

They’re not the most comfortable of bushes to push through.

I was surprised to see that the maturer ‘berries’ (in fact miniature cones) weren’t blue as I expected but a bright rust red.

Red juniper berries

I looked the phenomenon up and apparently it’s a different species – not, as I first feared, the effect of some strange disease.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

