Home > Hunting, Our pets > Kepler and the hunt

Kepler and the hunt

A hunter with his rifle

When the boar hunters came round last time, I wrote in my blog post for the day that I believed the main danger during a hunt is from the guns.

Anyway here is a man carrying a rifle about 100 yards away from the house.

We were alerted about the hunt this morning when the dogs had already gone out. I told my contact that we’d get our 2 older dogs in, but please to watch out for a small brown one that looks like a fox as I might not be able to catch him.

After a lot of Peek-a-boo and Can’t-catch-me, I got hold of Kepler when the hunt was already underway in the distance. The bait that was eventually successful was  a small piece of cheese.

I took the photo of the hunter from the bedroom window with all 3 dogs safely by my feet.

Fox? Dingo? Muntjac deer?

  1. November 4, 2012 at 11:55 am

    Our rules in NH are 300 yards from a dwelling and you can actually post your land to keep trespassers OUT I used to hunt but would NEVER go on another’s land without written permission.

    Stay safe out there and place ORANGE on ALL YOUR PETS!

    • Damaris
      November 4, 2012 at 9:12 pm

      There are quite complex rules here, too, for example about how near a hunter can be when he has his back to a dwelling and how near he can be when he’s facing it. You can fence your land and keep people out but you have to pay tax for it and you would normally have a reason such as you’re rearing hare or deer. Basically, here, your land is considered open and accessible for such activities as mushroom-picking, shooting of small game, and hare and boar hunting. I always call out to anyone I see on our land because I’d like word to get around that we appreciate people speaking to us rather than just assuming. I don’t think I’m winning, though.

      • November 5, 2012 at 12:56 am

        lol he we can shoot trespassers lol I found a guy and his pit bull in the river beside me and I yelled down to him “How did you get over there?” He said I went through your yard I didn’t think anyone was home.” wrong answer I told him he was to get out and Walk on Water if need be as he passed 17 tresspassing signs I called police and they explained I was nice by not filing charges I pay $4000+ a year in taxes for my land to use and keep safe 😦 he is just one in a string of many who love my yard as much as I 😦 in 20 years I never posted land times are different here in USA you are not safe in your own home sadly 😦
        Eunice

      • Damaris
        November 5, 2012 at 12:05 pm

        Coming from Britain, where you often see signs ‘Trespassers will be prosecuted’, Italy was something of a culture shock. Boundaries are well-established and meaningful when it comes to selling, woodcutting and the like, but people do just literally wander over land that doesn’t belong to them. There are certain constraints of plain good manners, like not walking too close to somebody’s house – it’s when that happens that I tend to object the most. Someone’s likely to tell me how many years (40 sometimes) that they’ve been walking that way and I use the dogs as an excuse – that they’re getting upset. The other side of the coin is that when I go up into our woods I almost always get lost and I don’t know where the boundary is anyway. I’m not afraid of someone leaping out and asking me what the devil I’m doing there!

      • November 5, 2012 at 1:01 pm

        lol for certain boy our two countries are so different and here in USA each stat makes their own rules as well

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

