Home > Hunting, Italian customs > Bell in the night

Bell in the night

Last night we heard a bell tinkling outside our bedroom window – a pleasant, fey sort of noise. We guessed it must belong to a dog left behind after the hunt.

It was after midnight so we couldn’t phone my hunting contact, but I wanted to get a glimpse of the dog so I could describe it.

What I expected to see

By the time I’d put on my dressing gown and slippers, the tinkle had receded beyond the reach of the torch beam.

We heard the bell a second time close by and I went outside and crouched for ages, listening to it zig-zagging back and forth in the olive grove. It never came near enough for me to be sure to see it if I turned on the torch.

By the third pass, I’d had an idea: I went outside and gently rang the bell we bought for Kepler. But it didn’t work. The dog didn’t come to see if  a colleague was also lost but continued to zig-zag.

This morning I was able to see the creature which had disturbed our sleep. It was a young-looking dog,  ‘black with some white on it’ as I reported to my contact on the phone.

Shortly after a 4×4 came up the drive in the rain, turned round and parked a little way from the house. I never saw the dog get in it, but nor did I see the dog again.

  1. November 6, 2012 at 2:20 pm

    we have people who use dogs to hunt even have homing devices on them and they still leave them out lost in our woods 😦 2 such dogs showed up with these devices on them. Beautiful dogs worth so much money here in US good quality hunting dogs go for $350 to $700 US Dollars, They were cold and tired and of course scared hungry too. We took them in fed them gave them fresh water and had them on the couch under a blanket only once when they were caught up on rest and heat did I call the number on their devices. The owner showed up they never left my warm couch as he walked in I could see they were disgusted by this owner but what could I do but return them they were his though he did not deserve them in my opinion leaving them to fend for themselves with all that could have befell them 😦 He did get a sermon from me though 🙂
    Eunice

    • Damaris
      November 6, 2012 at 7:25 pm

      It’s terrible how some people treat dogs. There’s a shepherd here, a cheerful man who always greets us, but he keeps his dogs chained up in all weathers. One time he had a pair of puppies and he kept the female but just abandoned the male. It roamed the countryside and managed to elude the dog catchers at least for a while. We found it once lying in the road having been shot with a tranquilliser. It got up and ran just as the dog catchers arrived. I wanted to adopt it, but Clive very sensibly reminded me how differently it had been brought up to our dogs and how unfair it would be for them to have a member of their pack leading a separate life, of necessity. I’m afraid Italy isn’t a nation of dog lovers. Many men openly admit to being afraid of all dogs, even ours.

      • November 6, 2012 at 9:50 pm

        We have cruel people trust me even the filthy rich who know better but show no compassion for man or animal kind our countries have so much in common those who love all and want to fight for a protect and those who will just be horrid sadly 😦 I am glad you and I love animals
        HUGS
        Eunice

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

