Home > Health, Italian culture > Olive obsession

Olive obsession

On Friday I went for a check-up of my glaucoma.

I have a nickname for the consultant I usually see: Salvador Dali, because he’s tall and rather grand, with a peremptory and somewhat eccentric manner.

He calls me ‘cara’ (which means ‘dear’ in Italian), and uses my middle name (Léa) which no-one else ever uses.

Ripe olives

Ripe olives

I was surprised and amused when out of the blue he said:

“And the olives?”

I don’t remember telling him we have olive trees.

I replied that I didn’t think the harvest would be much good.

“Oh,” he said.

After a few  more moments of pacing up and down as is his wont, he said:

“I haven’t bought my oil for the year yet.”

What else would one talk about during an ophthalmology appointment in Umbria?

  1. December 2, 2012 at 9:19 pm

    I swear I have a bush/tree with these same leaves I always call it my Olive tree but have never seen any on it 🙂

    • December 3, 2012 at 12:07 am

      Does it ever have very small white flowers?

      • December 3, 2012 at 3:26 am

        Yes I will take a photo and share with you never saw a Olive on it though 🙂

      • December 3, 2012 at 1:41 pm

        Please do! 🙂

      • December 3, 2012 at 1:47 pm

        🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

