Home > Gardening > Still going strong

Still going strong

Round about now I would normally cut the long rose sprays which will be whipped around by the winter winds.

Rose fronds arching over the path

Rose sprays arching over the path

If they’re long enough, they might even destabilise the roots of the bush itself as they lash wildly back and forth.

As it is, I have to pick them gently out of the way as I go down the path and sometimes they’re dripping wet.

But I haven’t got the heart to cut them back just yet.

The tips of many of the sprays are covered in buds yet to open.

Buds yet to open

Buds yet to open

  1. December 17, 2012 at 7:49 pm

    Oh my goodness – thank you for the pictures of rose buds. I spent a couple hours outside this morning shoveling and playing with the grandkids in the snow. We are definitely going to have a white Christmas.

    • December 18, 2012 at 1:49 am

      You know, I would love to have a white Christmas – a reliably white Christmas. But I do like it that the roses have so much life in them, even when conditions are so unfavourable.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

