Home > Daily life > Bear comfort

Bear comfort

Whitey bear - notice the nose squashed from much hugging

Whitey bear – notice the nose squashed from much hugging

When I was small, I had 2 stuffed dogs which I loved dearly.

I say stuffed, but both of them – and one in particular – had been so squeezed that most of the stuffing was gone.

I also had a teddy bear, called Whitey Bear on account of his being white (or yellowy white after his shampoo when I was sick all over him).

When my dogs went the way of all flesh, Whitey Bear lived on.

He went on display at the Cambridge Folk Museum in an exhibition of teddy bears.

He’s the only soft toy to survive from my childhood and he has the same function as he always did.

I wonder what it is about bears that makes them so special when there are other animals to choose from?

Is it because of the bear hug they seem to be offering?

A very recent BBC News article examines the appeal of bears, toy and otherwise.

Knut, the famous polar bear cub

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

