Home > Gardening > To be or not to be?

To be or not to be?

White-spotted rose beetles on Granny Smith apple blossom

White-spotted rose beetles on Granny Smith apple blossom

Basically the question is: do I kill these beetles or do I let them be?

White-spotted rose beetles are my number one ‘bête noire’ in the summer.

They can reduce a beautiful rose to something resembling a piece of chewed-up tissue in an afternoon.

Much as I hate them, their presence on apple blossom is a bit more ambiguous.

I’m really not quite sure what they’re doing there.

If they’re eating the calix and destroying the flower’s potential to make an apple, then they should be forever damned.

However if they’re pollinating the flowers, which I’ve heard they’re capable of, then they have a role to play.

So far I’ve let them live, but of course there’ll be that many more of them to eat the roses where pollination isn’t an issue.

There’s an Italian proverb I’ve just come across: ‘Nel dubbio, astieniti,’ which means ‘When in doubt, don’t.’ Perhaps I’ll follow it on this occasion.

  1. April 28, 2013 at 2:36 pm

    Man I wish I learned that saying LONG AGO! lol
    Japanese beetles always destroy my Ruggosa Rose blooms I say they love the smell too!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

