Home > Living in Italy, Services, Transport > The courier who doesn’t deliver

The courier who doesn’t deliver

Our drive is wide enough for 2 dogs abreast on half the carriageway

Our drive is wide enough for 2 dogs abreast on half the carriageway

I had a phonecall from a courier this morning, on his way to bring us a parcel.

He didn’t find us last time, so could I meet him along the route?

This is the thin end of the wedge with couriers – the answer is ‘no’.

Ah, but he had a very big van …

The van, when it arrived shortly after, was relatively small; far larger vehicles have made it to us without difficulty.

This didn’t stop the young lad from grumbling again.

He opened his rear doors, I signed for the parcel, and he looked at me expecting me to fish it out and carry it to the house – all 20 kilos of it.

After he’d grudgingly carried it in and plonked it upside down in front of the stairs door just as someone was coming downstairs, he started to drive off with his rear doors wide open.

I ran to the cab window to tell him and he instructed me to shut the doors – “Slam them,” he called –  which I did, without receiving any thanks.

I wonder if he’s like that every day?

  1. June 13, 2013 at 2:53 am

    lol probably 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

