Home > Animals and wildlife, Gardening > Bert the caterpillar

Bert the caterpillar

Bert before he even woke up this morning

Bert before he even woke up this morning

I don’t know why I think of this swallowtail butterfly caterpillar as Bert, not being one to anthropomorphise wild creatures around me as a rule.

After cutting down a fennel plant that was poking through a rose, I found Bert hiding on the lower fronds.

I broke off his frond and introduced it into a living plant, but not being the brightest button in the box Bert hasn’t moved over yet.

He’s a bit more evident in his new location so I hope he won’t make a snack for a passing bird.

I’ll try to keep my eye on him.

Bert munching still on his old frond

Bert breakfasting on his old frond

  1. June 30, 2013 at 12:56 pm

    Great photos!! Fancy calling him Bert!!!

    • July 1, 2013 at 4:12 pm

      Thank you! The next one (if I find one) is Mary!

  2. June 30, 2013 at 3:26 pm

    A real beauty!

    • July 1, 2013 at 4:14 pm

      They really are lovely caterpillars, aren’t they?

      • July 1, 2013 at 4:22 pm

        I never find them as this but have swarms of what they become here in the yard 🙂

      • July 1, 2013 at 6:19 pm

        Do you have the foodplant? Here it’s fennel.

      • July 1, 2013 at 7:29 pm

        I do not have fennel in this years I will next though lol

      • July 2, 2013 at 4:21 pm

        🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

