Fennel

Fennel flowers

Fennel flowers

Our fennel isn’t the sort that forms white bulbs you can eat, but I still love its aniseed scent.

I bought one plant about 5 years ago and let it seed, and I’ve been finding little fennel plants everywhere ever since.

These stems on the parent plant got the chop today so as to prevent a total invasion.

I checked each one carefully to make sure there were no swallowtail butterfly caterpillars on them, but I suspect they’re a bit tough for that. In fact I’ve only ever found caterpillars on young plants.

There was one on a young plant today; I don’t what species of butterfly it belongs to.

A very small caterpillar on the top of a fennel stalk

A very small caterpillar on the top of a fennel stalk

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

