Home > Gardening > Gilding the lily

Gilding the lily

Foreground for the view

Foreground for the view

Our house has, quite literally, 360-degree views.

Sometimes I’m hard put to decide which prospect is best.

Clive’s favourite, a row of distant blue mountain peaks beyond the gulf of the olive grove, is actually my least favourite.

As I swim the length of the pool, I’m not sure which end holds more interest.

My point is this: we already had a lily, so why did I try to gild it?

We could have just had a lawn (doubtless not a very nice lawn in the hot summer) but somewhere to put deckchairs and for the dogs to play.

Why did I plant roses, lavender etc and why do I spend hours extracting thistles and bindweed?

Looking at the garden now, shining as it is after recent rain, I know why.

  1. July 13, 2013 at 7:11 pm

    Your garden looks lovely with all those roses and lavender!!

    • July 14, 2013 at 1:17 pm

      It smells good, too. I meant to cut and dry some lavender to make lavender bags but I think I’ve missed the best moment and I like looking at it outside anyway!

  2. July 17, 2013 at 10:39 pm

    INDEED that is WHY!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

