Home > Animals and wildlife, Gardening > Tantalising butterfly

Tantalising butterfly

Giant banded grayling butterflies on a nectarine 2

Communal dining

Checking to see if the nectarines were ripe (which they aren’t quite), I found some badly bird-pecked ones.

Not only that, on one of them 2 butterflies were gorging themselves silly.

For identification purposes (to clinch they were Giant Banded Graylings), I wanted to photograph one of them with its wings open.

And so the pursuit began.

Viewfinder against eye and finger on shutter release, I chased my target from tree trunk to fence post to rock and back again to nectarine.

Despite sitting for minutes at a time in full sunshine on its various resting places, it never once fanned out its wings to sun itself.

In the end I had to be satisfied with the blurred image I caught first time on the nectarine.

The nearest I got

The nearest I got

  1. July 22, 2013 at 3:47 pm

    Beautiful images!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

