Home > Daily life, Our pets > Path of gold

Path of gold

Path of gold

Path of gold

The circular walk which I try to do with the dogs every evening has become quite an institution.

From lunchtime onwards, in a crescendo of fervour, Galileo anticipates my every rise from a chair as a promising signal.

I love it too. The way being hard, I even manage to walk without hardly thinking of anything but the walk.

There’s one place along the route where golden flowers grow so thickly their colour melts like light across the sea.

No matter how many times we pass through, the flowers seem to spring back fresh as ever.

  1. July 24, 2013 at 12:46 am

    Gorgeous words and photo. Breathe in Love Exhale Love

    • July 24, 2013 at 11:38 am

      Thank you for your lovely words. I wonder if you know the little gem of a poem by Robert Browning from which I took the phrase for my post title. The poem is called ‘Parting at morning’:

      Round the cape of a sudden came the sea,
      And the sun look’d over the mountain’s rim:
      And straight was a path of gold for him,
      And the need of a world of men for me.

      • July 24, 2013 at 1:00 pm

        That is beautiful

        Heard of the poets but since 6th so long ago never spent any time with them trucking then took over my life and when I had a free moment I polished my pretty truck lol Music was my life sadly no time for reading in my world which is nice about blogging as I am catching up on the ARTS 🙂

      • July 25, 2013 at 2:58 pm

        Glad you liked it. It’s one of my favourite poems. Clive is always quoting song lyrics, which are so often apt to the situation, while I try to counter by quoting the odd line of poetry!

      • July 25, 2013 at 10:15 pm

        a perfect pairing 🙂

      • July 26, 2013 at 10:56 am

        😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

