Home > Gardening > Nectarines

Nectarines

Nectarine tree

Nectarine tree

This is the tree, one of the largest and most solid in the orchard.

And these are its fruits, supremely sweet and running with juice.

Nectarines

Nectarines

There’s some debate among scholars as to what the forbidden fruit in the Garden of Eden actually was.

Some say it was a pomegranate, others a fig and others a grape, rather than the traditional apple.

I think it should have been a nectarine, because there are few fruits more tempting.

  1. August 2, 2013 at 1:26 am

    OMG they look so GOOOOOOOOOOD!!!!!!!!

    My weeping pear tree has hundreds of 3 ” long fruits 😦

    • August 2, 2013 at 12:37 pm

      Your pear tree sounds wonderful. My grandparents lived in a place called Pear Tree Farm but I’ve never been fond of pears – except stewed!

      • August 2, 2013 at 2:19 pm

        I love them in salads and am getting so ansty I may pluck a few and place into a brown bag to start the ripening process 🙂

      • August 2, 2013 at 5:09 pm

        Nectarines are nice in salad, too. Last night we had nectarine jelly (made by Clive from stewed nectarines and gelatine). It was absolutely yummy.

      • August 3, 2013 at 4:20 pm

        OH I better nothing better to gather in ones yard and whip it up into something yummy and sit out side and enjoy each others company and good ness from the yard 🙂

        I picked fresh Blackberries from yard as dog and I took the camera for a walk 🙂

        Late lazy day
        I had severe leg cramps late night into wee hours all better now but it was nuts. We took a long ride to friend place and walked and sat but maybe I just did not drink enough water 😦

      • August 3, 2013 at 5:59 pm

        I’m glad your legs are better now. I loved blackberries in Britain but they tend to be rather dried-up here.

      • August 4, 2013 at 3:48 am

        🙂 OH they are so good in icecream 🙂 LOVE IT!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

