Home > Animals and wildlife, Swimming Pool > The swallowtail butterfly that wasn’t scarce

The swallowtail butterfly that wasn’t scarce

Perched on a yellow flower

Perched on a yellow flower

The Scarce Swallowtail is so named because it’s a rare migrant in Britain. It’s also becoming rarer in other parts of Europe.

This particular one nearly met its demise in the swimming pool yesterday evening.

Fortunately I was passing and although the net didn’t reach it and the net pole was tied up in a syphon contraption, I went in, clothed, and rescued it.

It didn’t stay on the windowsill where I put it but flapped onto my dress, where it seemed to be particularly drawn to the yellow flower.

It walked from there onto my finger and liked its new position so much that I could have danced with it, or done acrobatics, without it detaching itself.

I finally coaxed it onto the top leaves of the little grapefruit tree where it clung, and watched me.

It was still there a while later but had gone by the morning.

A grateful glance?

A grateful glance?

  1. August 2, 2013 at 12:30 am

    Love it! Glad you were able to convince it to SIT STILL!!!

    • August 2, 2013 at 12:41 pm

      It wouldn’t budge, bless it. I had trouble taking the photo on my dress, though, because I couldn’t pull the fabric far enough away for the shot. I ended up taking the dress off (it was wet anyway from going in the pool to rescue the butterfly) and doing it like that!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

