Home > Animals and wildlife, Our pets > A tenacious spider

A tenacious spider

Spider on its chosen flower

Spider on its chosen flower

Yesterday evening, looking for a perfectly balanced scabious flower to photograph, I spotted one with an angular whitish spider on it.

The perfect spice for a shot!

The dogs, however, weren’t going to make life easy.

So often, as if disapproving of such a feeble pastime, they rush into the viewfinder at the last moment and trample my subject as they pass.

On this occasion each, in turn, hurtled against the scabious stalk so that the spider was swung in a violent arc as if being launched by a trebuchet.

But it didn’t let go; far from it.

In the photo the poor creature clings on for dear life, its powerful legs camouflaged among the florets.

  1. August 5, 2013 at 3:12 pm

    DAMN

    I took a shot of a bloom and when I went to process them onto the computer it was in 3 shots I never saw it 😦 thankfully I never mess with flowers before hand I know they are eating pests but I was bit by a widow a long time ago and spent 10 days with leg elevated not a fan of THESE crawling things 🙂

    Nice shot!

    • August 6, 2013 at 11:18 am

      I’m so glad we don’t have Black Widows or other dangerous spiders here. It would worry me for the dogs as well, especially Galileo who goes on a bug hunt every night.

      • August 6, 2013 at 12:52 pm

        🙂 JT lays on the rocks beside the river where HUGE ones live and I worry all the time then again as I age I always worry 🙂 Just not a Dumb Blonde anymore 🙂 I have an award for you at Living and Lovin

      • August 6, 2013 at 7:25 pm

        😉 Thank you! 🙂

      • August 6, 2013 at 9:18 pm

        You are very welcome my blogging buddy

        🙂

      • August 7, 2013 at 1:41 am

        🙂 And thank you so much for reblogging my spider – that was very sweet of you.

      • August 7, 2013 at 2:26 am

        hush lol I am not Sweet 🙂 just share what catches my eye 🙂 I love your shots and stories.

      • August 7, 2013 at 11:30 am

        🙂

  2. August 5, 2013 at 3:13 pm

    Reblogged this on Living and Lovin and commented:
    YIKES!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

