Home > Gardening, Living in Italy > Here I am again

Here I am again

I’m writing this post after a gap of over 2 years. What has been happening to us? Some people know; to others it won’t matter. I intend to outline our situation a bit at a time as I go along so that no-one gets indigestion! Suffice it to say, we’re still living in Italy, and we’re still living in the same house in the foothills of the Apennines.

Blue elephant house

Blue elephant and pump house

Today I closed the irrigation system and got a lovely blood blister like half a lentil on the tip of my finger from one of the valves. Then I had to pick up the pump, which weighs a ton, and tip all the water out of its orifices.

The photo shows the little house where the blue elephant (rainwater storage tank) and the pump live. Next thing is to pull the curtain across the door and nail it closed for the winter.

Hallowe’en tonight. I just remarked to Clive that we’re not exactly likely to get any trick-or-treaters here where we are!

  1. October 31, 2015 at 9:41 pm

    Welcome back, nice to read you are still going strong in Italy. Looking forward to more tales to come

  2. pamela difford
    October 31, 2015 at 10:43 pm

    So pleased you `ve decided to blog again as I enjoyed your previous diary immensly [ and glad I hav`nt frightened you off the internet after cold calling re the house in Gualdo Cattaneo!! ]PS We return on the 13th November to complete at the Notaios office YIKES

    • November 1, 2015 at 1:45 am

      Hope your completion goes to plan!

  3. David Clarke
    November 1, 2015 at 1:18 am

    Nice surprise to read this!

  4. November 1, 2015 at 5:49 pm

    I am here very little glad I caught your post. I never get little ones down here in the woods of NH either. Hope you are both well.

    • November 1, 2015 at 7:21 pm

      Hi there. Thank you for your message. I’m afraid we’ve got very big problems on the health front – I’ll be talking about them soon.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

