Home > Animals and wildlife, Gardening, Living in Italy > It is not dead, but sleepeth

It is not dead, but sleepeth

Hornet asleep next to tomorrow's feast

Hornet asleep next to tomorrow’s feast

Before the discovery of the hornets’ nest, I went out at night to pick one or two of the few, tiny apples which the dry summer yielded.

I noticed that some of them were nibbled almost completely away and there, clinging to as yet intact peel, were two gorged hornets, fast asleep.

The flash of my camera in fact woke them up enough to groggily move a leg or two, but other than that they stayed still.

I’ve heard one should never swat or squash hornets outside because of the pheromones attracting fellows to their aid, but I wonder if this applies at night?

Anyway, rightly or wrongly, I left them to their slumbers.

  1. rutlander
    November 9, 2015 at 1:16 am

    I am no expert but found hornets in bird boxes a few times, which was great, if you move slowly and do not make a fuss I learned they were not as aggressive as wasps.

    • November 9, 2015 at 1:26 am

      Yes, hornets seem more intent on their own business than wasps. While I was photographing the nest, which I did from closer too as well, they zoomed over my head without bothering me. It’s the idea of proliferation that worries me. Also I don’t think anyone would pick our olives if we didn’t make a move against the nest (which we haven’t yet)!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

