Blue

Blue topaz, blue water

Blue topaz, blue water

On holiday in Sri Lanka many years ago, Clive and I visited a moonstone mine. There was plenty of moonstone jewellery for sale, but I was struck by a ring set with a brilliant blue topaz.

It cost rather more than moonstone, but then it had many more times the depth of colour … and Clive indulged me.

When it sits on the rim of the indoor pool, it looks almost as if a drop of the bright turquoise water has jumped into the setting.

I can imagine I’m inside the cut stone when I’m in the pool, and in the pool when I look into the depths of the stone.

The colour match gives me the same glee as when some morning glories opened out exactly the same shade of blue as the water tank (the ‘blue pig’) they were growing over. I even showed the Garden Centre man when he made a delivery, but he just looked at me as if I was a bit touched!

  1. pm difford
    December 20, 2015 at 10:37 pm

    This is so touching.

  2. December 20, 2015 at 11:00 pm

    I actually have a moonstone bracelet given to me by an old neighbour whose daughter had died, it had belonged to her. It is delicate and beautiful but not the same depth of colour as your lovely topaz ring!!

    • December 21, 2015 at 9:23 pm

      Your bracelet sounds beautiful. Moonstones certainly have a subtle, mysterious charm especially when they’re chatoyant. We picked up some moonstone chips from the mine which I still have somewhere …

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

