Home > Gardening, Living in Italy > Over the moon

Over the moon

Jujube branch with last year's leaf stalks

Jujube branch with last year’s leaf stalks

Our jujube tree looks to me like a lost soul.

It’s scarcely grown in the 8 years we’ve had it, it’s had fruit once (well twice, but the second time hardly counted) and now it’s got lichen on the branches and the nodes where the leaf stalks develop, which may be the nearest it gets to flowering.

It’s at the furthest corner of the orchard and although I love it’s delicate foliage, I have to confess I don’t visit it very often and I’m not terribly enamoured of the fruits. I once ate an acorn – they strike me as similar.

I looked up about uses of jujubes and was interested to find that in Italy they traditionally make ‘brodo di giuggiole’ which literally means jujube broth but is actually alcoholic and very sweet. The Italian phrase ‘andare in brodo di giuggiole’ (to go into jujube broth) means to be over the moon!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

