Rain on my parade

Tent caterpillar photographed through my microscope

Tent caterpillar photographed through my microscope

It wasn’t exactly a parade, Giovanni and me walking through the orchard applying the post-flower spray, but the rain timed itself perfectly: first spots as we finished the mixture.

So that was that. All washed off.

However, we discovered some extremely lively tent caterpillars on a cherry twig as we went by.

Also, when I looked through my new microscope (advance birthday present from Clive) at aphids pre-spray and post-spray, there was a definite air of lethargy about the latter.

The spray takes a lot longer than the half hour or so it had to take proper effect, but maybe we did do some good.

  1. jomamahep
    April 30, 2016 at 2:30 pm

    We have them here in the Houston area. One or two don’t bother me, but this just creeps me out. LOL! https://www.facebook.com/KHOUTimWetzel/videos/1001024969973217/

    • April 30, 2016 at 7:14 pm

      Thank you for the link to the video – it looks pretty extreme. I’m glad it’s not as bad here.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

