Home > Gardening, Living in Italy > Late peaches

Late peaches

Peach tree with props for its laden branches

Peach tree with props for its laden branches

The peaches on this tree always ripen late in the season.

When I say ripen, I mean that they change colour and the whole tree gives off a delicious perfume.

But they stay fairly hard, and are really best for cooking in some guise or other.

As soon as we’ve finished with the pears, grapes and almonds, I’ll pick them.

  1. September 5, 2016 at 7:34 am

    Do you have to net them, to protect from birds?

    • September 5, 2016 at 10:27 pm

      We do lose quite a bit of fruit to birds, especially cherries and plums (not so much peaches), but it’s not a commercial enterprise so I guess we just live and let live. It would be difficult to net the trees anyway as they’re quite tall.

      • September 5, 2016 at 10:58 pm

        Our local birds are quite skilled at landing on a branch outside the net and walking in. Quite entertaining! I agree, live and let live 😊

      • September 6, 2016 at 4:58 pm

        Our jays would be like that, I’m sure. They’re supposed to be very intelligent and opportunistic birds.

  2. September 9, 2016 at 9:59 pm

    I’m just now catching up on posts I’ve missed because of my crazy work schedule for the last few weeks. I clicked on this picture to enlarge it because this smaller version here on the blog looked almost like a cartoon on my small laptop. The full size photo is stunning!! I’m quite jealous of your crop!

    • September 10, 2016 at 7:49 pm

      The tree’s done well this year. I have to say I wish the peaches ripened in the way that earlier ones do – the dribble-down-your-chin type. But these are especially good stewed and then frozen for the winter which is when you really want them.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

