Home > Animals and wildlife, Living in Italy, Our pets > Be careful what you wish for

Be careful what you wish for

Skull and antlers of a roe deer

Skull and antlers of a roe deer

An antler would be nice, I thought. I’m fond of the ‘drop’ antler that lives in my pencil jar.

So next thing I saw was Florence in her ‘killing field’ (the area of gravel behind the car where she chews fruit, wood, toys etc) with two antlers attached to a skull.

I might almost have cleaned it and made it into an ornament, except that we’re trying to get rid of things rather than acquire them.

A little later there was a pelvis and two hind legs.

Finally, after Florence had appeared at the far end of the orchard with the fourth leg, I went looking and found the rest of the carcase.

There wasn’t much left other than backbone, bits of hide, and tufts of rufus fur; I cleared it all away as best I could.

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

