Home > Gardening, Living in Italy > Natural selection

Natural selection

Red rose dwarfed by the neighbouring plants

Red rose dwarfed by neighbouring plants

Almost entirely shaded by the canopy of the wisteria is a red rose.

I have a choice to make: do I allow the rose to be plunged into eternal shadow, do I prune the wisteria severely back, or do I try to grow the red rose taller so as to form one side of an arch? (You can see through the leaves of the silverberry bush to the right how high it’s gone already.)

Nature has a habit of answering these dilemmas herself, though – I may end up having no choice at all.

  1. September 20, 2016 at 1:52 pm

    It might be worth pruning the rose back, then moving it to a better spot when it goes dormant – just a thought!

    • September 20, 2016 at 6:14 pm

      I honestly doubt the rose would survive if I did that. On a different tack, I’ve tried taking cuttings of various roses but while for some roses they took, for this particular rose they didn’t, unfortunately.

      • September 21, 2016 at 10:42 am

        I’m not an expert but I’ve often heard experts saying roses can be moved at the right time of the year. Perhaps it’s an idea to save as a last resort. And good luck with the cuttings!

      • September 21, 2016 at 7:37 pm

        Thank you! That reminds me I have a rose cutting from a neighbour still in a pot which could be planted out…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

