Near-flood

The stove with the catchment bottle showing on the right

Stove with catchment bottle showing on right

I was sitting at my desk when I heard a small sound like something tearing.

I tracked it down to the stove, where a vigorous jet was coming out of the overflow.

I set it running into a 3 litre bottle, then phoned our plumber/electrician who by chance was due later anyway.

Over the next few hours, the stove pumped out more than 10 litres of water – just as well I’d realised!

The plumber/electrician said the problem was due to an increase in pressure in the mains water and that it ought not to recur, which thankfully it hasn’t as yet.

  1. December 12, 2016 at 12:27 am

    Oh my imagine if you were not home!

    • December 12, 2016 at 9:01 pm

      Yes, quite. But we do always turn the stove off when we go out and I have a feeling it wouldn’t have happened if the stove had been off.

      • December 13, 2016 at 11:51 am

        Glad to hear! Happy Holidays!

      • December 13, 2016 at 9:30 pm

        Thank you and same to you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

