Home > Gardening, Living in Italy, Our house > New beginnings

New beginnings

A grapefruit shoot reaches out across the face of the pool timber

A grapefruit shoot reaches across the pool timbers

This will almost certainly be my last post on ‘Living in Italy’.

On Monday 2nd January 2017 we will be committing to the sale of our house, mainly for health reasons.

I wish to say how much I’ve appreciated the companionship of my readers, and above all those I’ve heard from regularly. You know who you are and I will not forget you.

The grapefruit tree has chosen this moment to send out dozens of new shoots, just as we have to leave it behind, but we hope that it foreshadows new beginnings.

  1. January 1, 2017 at 1:58 am

    Happy New Year and Good Luck in your new endeavours.

    • January 1, 2017 at 8:03 pm

      Thank you and the same to you!

  2. rutlander
    January 1, 2017 at 4:06 pm

    I will miss your posts and photographs , I hope it all works out for you.

    • January 1, 2017 at 8:04 pm

      Thank you for that, and thank you also for all your support. Happy New Year!

  3. jomamahep
    January 3, 2017 at 12:13 am

    Will you be checking in with us on FB occasionally on your personal page? Obviously, we’ve never met but I’m a bit worried about both you and Clive as I feel I’ve gotten to know you a bit over the last year reading your posts. Wherever your journey takes you, I’ve appreciated reading and “peeking” into your life through your eyes.

    • January 7, 2017 at 7:14 pm

      Thank you so much for your kind concern now and on previous occasions. I certainly don’t plan to disappear, and hope to pick up some of the threads as soon as we’re settled again.

  4. Sarina
    January 4, 2017 at 7:22 am

    Dear Damaris, Every bug, flower, fruit and tree, from the macro- to the microscopic, that you’ve explored, investigated, poetically described and generously shared every day has inspired me to closely examine and appreciate my own surroundings. Thank you so much for sharing your perspective on so many subjects. You taught me that wherever we are the beauty and humor in life can nurture our nature. I hope your transition is smooth. Please take care. 😊❤️ Sarina.

    • January 7, 2017 at 7:18 pm

      Hello Sarina, Thank you so much for such an encouraging comment. What you say I’ve done is exactly what I tried to do. You brought tears to my eyes. Thank you again.

  5. Mr Livingstone
    January 12, 2017 at 8:13 pm

    Dear Damaris, It was the 11th of April, 2012, when I ventured a comment to you about my time in Italy – Always wary of bothering folk, to now see that you are relocating, obliges me to send my best regards to you and hope that you will let us know how you are, once the ‘activity’ ahead calms and you are re-settled. All the very best to you! Yours with kindest regards, P Livingstone (currently in British Columbia, Canada)

    • January 13, 2017 at 11:33 am

      Thank you so much for making contact again and for your best wishes. I certainly intend to ‘rear my head again’ once we’re settled.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

