Home > Gardening, Health, Living in Italy > Exercise in futility?

Exercise in futility?

Apricot tree in bloom

Apricot tree in bloom

This is the every-other-year apricot tree in full blossom regalia, exuding a delicious blossomy scent.

I took the photo just before it was subjected to vicious wind and driving rain.

The bumblebees, which seem to be primary pollinators, will be tucked up in their nests. Even without being un-aerodynamic they wouldn’t stand a chance, so I hope we get some still and sunny days soon.

I’ve almost finished pruning the fruit trees – just a few exotics to go: a jujube tree which has only fruited once, a persimmon tree, two bushes, and some plum ‘scrub’ across the front edge by the house.

Then it’s on to the roses and the buddleias!

Clive sat on a bench by the patio door while I was at it today – his first time properly out of doors. I realised afterwards his view of what I was up to was partly blocked by the wall. The idea had been for us to keep each other company, but for much of the time all he could see was branches and twigs mysteriously toppling!

  1. February 29, 2016 at 4:56 pm

    I’m in Texas and I also have a jujube tree–but I’m not exactly sure what to do with it. It is about 8 years old and has a decent amount of fruit every year, but I haven’t figured out what’s the best use of the fruit. Suggestions?

    • February 29, 2016 at 8:37 pm

      Hi Jo, You’ll see my post today is about our jujube tree which is about the same age as yours but I guess in a much worse state. They sell the fruit in the shops here, but I don’t know what people generally do with it. I think it’s more likely they use it as a snack than make alcoholic syrup because it’s sold in small quantities. In case you’re interested in ‘being over the moon’, here is the link which has a recipe (in Italian) https://it.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brodo_di_giuggiole

  2. February 29, 2016 at 8:52 pm

    The guy that gave me the tree told me to use it somewhat as a filler. In other words if you’re making an apple pie use it along with your apples because the fruit of the jujube tree takes on the flavor of whatever else it is cooked with. I tried making an apple crisp but I was not impressed with the texture of the jujube. It’s a very spongy consistency when cooked. I think I may try to do the same thing with some fresh Texas peaches when they are available in about six weeks.

    • February 29, 2016 at 9:00 pm

      Good idea. I hadn’t heard about that (not that it’s going to apply).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment